Final Reflection

As a grade 12 student, we are expected to complete the CAS program at this time. I am confident in saying I have satisfied most of my personal goals for the program.

The project that was of most importance to me was our work with Habitat for Humanity. It was of great difficulty getting a new service project introduced to the school and took a lot of organization. However, with the support of the school and Habitat, we were able to create one of the most successful projects of the past couple years. Not only did I develop my organizational skills in my position as secretary, but also in planning school events. I learned what works and what does not in advertising an event, as well as the importance of work allocation. Habitat was beneficial on a more personal level as well. Going out on builds allowed me to work with Sri Lankans more than I would have otherwise had the opportunity. I was also able to learn more about the culture and see first-hand the hardships that the tsunami victims have been facing over the past several years. The hands-on nature of builds such as the ones I went on fulfilled my goals for this year to truly make a difference in someone’s life, and assisting in the construction of a home, one of the most important possessions to any family, was all the more uplifting. Overall, I cannot be more thankful to have been involved in Habitat as it has opened my eyes about the everyday lives of people that I would otherwise only hear on the news. Working with Habitat for two consecutive years has allowed me to see a growth in the project and feel as though I have made a contribution in making it what it has become.

I am extremely proud of our organization of the Prom Committee. While the activity had minimal global significance, the enthusiasm from the rest of the school in starting Prom was inspirational. It will also be nice to leave OSC knowing that my classmates and myself had created something relatively new to the school and it was a success.

Getting involved in several drama projects has helped me develop as a person. While auditions were nerve-racking of course, I enjoyed trying something I had never done before and giving it all I had. I especially enjoyed the acting aspect, as I take Visual Arts and rarely have the opportunity to participate in programs related to drama. It also helped me to make new friends and get to know classmates that I had not had the opportunity of speaking with before.

Joining the SGA was probably the best decision I could have made for my senior year. Though there was a lot of responsibility in the position, I enjoyed developing new leadership skills and being more involved in the organization of various school events. I liked having the opportunity to give my input and have some influence over activities, something I had never had before. It also helped me to become more involved in programs outside of school and meet new people that attended our events.

Overall, I feel that I enjoyed SAISA Football the most. Though it was not of the same importance to me as the other projects, the practices helped me to become healthier and more focused academically. Traveling for SAISA was also a beneficial experience as I had never been a “representative” of a school, and the idea that I was in another country, playing for OSC, was exhilarating.

My CAS involvement at OSC has been a worthwhile commitment. Despite several aspects of it being time consuming as well as exhausting, I think it has helped me to grow as a more well-rounded person and has made my time at OSC more meaningful. I can now graduate with the knowledge that I have made a contribution and can hopefully take that same attitude with me wherever I move on to next.

 

Leave a comment